top of page
Search

You can't be what you can't see

I read a quote the other day that said "You can't be what you can't see" and it's been stuck in my head for days now. So today I want to talk about representation and examples. I have my reservations about saying that you CAN'T be something that you can't see, in fact, you can. But it's going to take so much more work, effort, blood, sweat and tears.


When I went to university, I didn't know what to expect because I didn't know anyone who was at university. When I became a geologist, I didn't know any geologists (besides the ones I studied with). When I started working at the mines, I did not see one person who looked or sounded like me, not one. How much easier would my career and life have been if there was someone else who followed the path before me?


And then it dawned on me that there was no path to follow, I created one. And I have to be the person that others see and want to be. Now, take a look at yourself and realize that you are being looked at by others. You might not know it, but there might be just 1 person in your hometown or at your old high school that looks at you and thinks wow, I want to be like him/her/them one day. Even if things aren't going your way, there are people looking up to you. So, go out and be the best version of yourself, mentor, coach, pay it forward so that people can see you.


Until next time, stay safe!


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page