top of page
Search

What makes you stand out?

Everybody has a "thing". Its something that makes you unique, it sets you apart from other people.


Why is this important?


As we grow older we forget about what makes us unique and start conforming to what our industries expect us to be. When you apply for a job, you send your CV and then you get invited for an interview if you are a successful candidate. The purpose of that interview is to find a person that can do a specific job BUT what you often don't think about is the fact that the interviewers are probably looking at 5 to 10 CV's of people who have exactly the same qualifications and/or experience. So, if everyone looks the same on paper they will have choose a candidate that stands out somehow. Everyone going to that interview is smart just like you, qualified just like you, has experience just like you so you need to find that "thing" that makes you stand out.


I used a picture of a violin for this blog because I can play the violin. I'm not very good but I can already do something that a lot of people can't. I can read and write music. I played in an orchestra so I understand what it means to work as a team. This has absolutely nothing to do with geology but it gives me an added advantage because of how I think. This is just one example of a "thing". Guess what? You are not limited to just one "thing" there can be many things that make you unique and it's up to you to identify them.


So take some time and ask yourself the following questions:


What can I do that would surprise a lot of people?

What personality trait makes me special?

What do I love to do?


If you can't think of anything that makes you stand out, then you are either stuck in a rut OR you short changing yourself. So go do a bit of soul searching and if you are having trouble, you know where to find me.


Until next time, stay safe.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page