top of page
Search

Set proper goals

A while ago, I posted a video on my Youtube channel about goal setting. This week I want to revisit the concept and talk about why it's important to set goals. If you haven't seen the video you can check it out here: https://youtu.be/1ZhlYXsSUvQ


It's very easy to get caught up in the cycle of work. You get up every day, go to work, you work, go home, eat, sleep, repeat. Before you know it 3 years have passed and you have nothing to show for it. This is where setting goals come in. You can have big goals, or small goals, long term or short term, it's entirely up to you. What I find easiest is to set a goal that I want to achieve for a year (it's less overwhelming for me) and then I make sure the goal is SMART, which stands for:


S - Specific: the goal should be distinct and defined (not generalizing)

M - Measurable: you should be able to measure progress and success

A - Achievable: the goal should be challenging but possible

R - Realistic: consider any hurdles that you may face

T - Time based: by when the goal must be reached


There are a few variations on what SMART goals stand for but they are all actually the same. Let me give an of a goal that is SMART and not SMART:


not SMART: I would like to have a bigger network

SMART: I would like to connect with 5 new people on LinkedIn, monthly, until October 2022


You can see by the example that the SMART goal will be much easier to execute because you know exactly what to do and by when. And you will also know when you have achieved your goal because there is a metric attached to it. Remember that you can have goals for your career, your business, your personal life and your side hustle, all going at the same time. You aren't limited to achieving one thing at a time, just don't over commit yourself because that will lead to burnout.


Goal setting is the very first thing I coach about in my coaching program and it's sets the tone for your whole coaching journey. Please book a free 45min Career Clarification Session with me and I will give you the clarity you need regarding your career and we can talk about your goals too: https://calendly.com/laurengamba/clarification-session


Until next time, stay safe!





20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page