top of page
Search

Reflecting on 2021

As we enter the last month of 2021, this will be my last blogpost for the year. Don't worry, I will still be blogging in the new year. I just wanted to take some time to reflect on the year that is past and share what I have learnt.


If I have to compare myself to the person I was last year at this very same time, I can honestly say that it's like comparing 2 different people to each other.


Here are some of the things that I have learnt:


1. The unknown is scary

Over the last year I have had to shift my mindset from a production geologist to a career coach. I started building my business and I have had to do so many things that I had absolutely no experience in. Luckily I had signed up for group coaching so I could at least be overwhelmed with other people. Even though I had some help, I still had to execute what I had learnt. It was SCARY! Then I realized that if I don't face these scary things, I will not grow. So everyday I do something that takes me out of my comfort zone.


2. You don't have to start fancy, you just have to start

I want everything to be perfect, even when I attempt it for the first time. I then ate some humble pie because that's not how it works. When I built this website, I did it on an old, slow laptop, with no mouse, using a very weak hotspot that I had made with my phone. It was not fancy, but at least there was a site where people could find me. As I learnt more, I added more and guess what... I'm going to change it again. So, if you are waiting to do something perfectly, just do it now otherwise you will postpone it forever.


3. Serve your network

I am always saying this but I have seen the power of networking. This year I was fortunate enough to be a mentor for the Bridge The Gap Geosciences Program and I was able to get to know so many new people. I gave up some of my time to help mentor students, free of charge. Through mentoring them I had an opportunity to refine my coaching skills. I also shared job opportunities with my network. And the more I shared, the more calls and messages I received with opportunities being offered to me. Make time to serve your network!


4. Self-care is important

I made a conscious decision to look after myself mentally and physically. Self-care, without guilt, can refresh you to the maximum. Recharging is important and I found that practicing self-care has made me a more patient person, who sleeps much better than before.


5. Things don't always go to plan

Even now, I'm typing this blog hours after I would normally have. Life happens, Covid happens, loadshedding happens. I've learnt to roll with the punches and manage what is in my control. I can choose to be miserable or I can choose to learn from every such experience.


I hope that you have a fantastic festive season. Please watch my posts on social media, I will still be posting.


Until next year, stay safe!







21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page