top of page
Search

Let me introduce myself: Part 1

Hello and thank you for reading my very first blog post! What an exciting time to be discovering something new.


Let me start by introducing myself: My name is Laurén Kay Gamba, and I am a geologist. I was born and raised in Paarl in the Western Cape by a single mom. There was no money to study but I was determined and managed to get a recruitment bursary from the University of Stellenbosch. And at the age of 19 I moved out of the house to go and study Chemical Engineering. Within 6 months I realized that I do not want to be a chemical engineer. My personality and passion were just not there, and so I finished the year and changed my major to geology. Guess what?! I loved it! I pushed on and in my 2nd year of geology I applied for a bursary with Sasol and I secured funding to finish my studies. After graduation I moved to the upclass and vibey town of Secunda, Mpumalanga, and started my mining career. It was there that I fell in love with mining. I completed the 2 year graduate training program and learned so much in that time.


I will go on in part 2 of this topic, about how I managed to make it in mining and the adventures I had on the way.


Stay safe!



36 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page