top of page
Search

How do you serve your network?

The power of networking is so amazing but yet so underrated. I believe that if you serve your network, then your network will serve you. For some, this makes perfect sense but I would like to dedicate today's blog to this subject. How do you serve your network? and why even does it matter?


First things first, you need to put yourself out there. This in itself seems like a daunting task, but the more you do it, the easier it gets.


Here are 5 ways in which you can serve your network:


  • Share something of value with them: This can be anything from an interesting article to a TED talk or even a Youtube video. You might be teaching someone something new and you don't even know it.


  • Support them: If they post something that resonates with you, like their post and leave a comment


  • Greet them when you see them: Your network isn't only the people on LinkedIn or Facebook, it's the people in your workplace and your organization. Greeting people is a great way to show that you value others


  • Refer a friend: If an opportunity arises that you do not want to take, go ahead and refer someone you know, you have nothing to lose by doing so.


  • Volunteer your time: Become a mentor, or volunteer in your community. Giving back is the best way to attract success to yourself.


You cannot expect to receive if you do not give of yourself sincerely. You can argue but I promise you that it's the truth. I practice all 5 ways that I've mentioned, and yes I have turned down actual job opportunities and referred someone in my network. One day someone will do the same for me, and it's going to be the right opportunity at the right time.


I love networking, and I love helping others to make networking easier for themselves. I've learnt that small things make a big difference, things as simple as liking a post on LinkedIn. I have never regretted making new acquaintances or connections, because I have learnt so much from my network, and I hope that they have learnt something from me.


If you struggle with the whole concept, book your free 45min Career Clarification Session with me: https://calendly.com/laurengamba/clarification-session


Until next time, stay safe!





26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page